Sep 182012
 

Is Popin’ Cookin’ halal?

Is Popin' Cookin' Halal?As a seller for Popin’ Cookin’, I get this question a lot from fellow Muslims. I, myself, kept asking the same question before this. I have done  a lot of research online trying to find out the ‘halal’ status of Popin’ Cookin’ products and other DIY candy products.

As you know, Japan do not have Halal certification for their products. Popin’ Cookin’ do not have halal certification. The ‘halal’ status is still a blur.

By ‘halal‘ here I mean it does not contain meat related ingredients and alcohol.

During my first contact with Kracie, they told me some products contain ‘gelatin‘ which is made from animal (namely pig) however they do not contain alcohol. Here is the email sent by Kracie representative to me:

Dear Sir
Thank you for your e-mail.
We inform you about halal about Popin Cookin and Happy Kitchen series.

Only two products are not halal by using gelatin from animals.
“Cup cake as Happy Kitchen” and “Nerikyan Land as Popin Cookin”contains gelatin from animals(beef and pork).
Other our DIY candies don’t use any animal and alcohol materials.

With my best regards,
Susumu Makino
Kracie Foods,LTD
**************************************
クラシエフーズ株式会社
〒108-8080
東京都港区海岸3-20-20
TEL03-5446-3680 FAX03-5446-3684
URL http://www.kracie.co.jp/
────────────────────────────────
暮らしへ、Kracie
──────────────────────────────
2007年6月1日より、クラシエフーズ株式会社に社名変更しました。

So basically it means as long as the products do not contain gelatin, it is safe to eat  for those who are not really particular about having a certified halal status on the product. I am fine with products that has no gelatin and alcohol.

HOWEVER.

During my second email to them, they’ve changed their statement. Here is the 2nd email from the same person stating that their products which could also include their DIY candies *might* contain alcohol.

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your e-mail.

Almost our products contains alcohol as flavor.
Our products are not received recognition as halal formally.

Your understanding is highly appreciated.
With my best regards,
Susumu Makino
**************************************
クラシエフーズ株式会社
〒108-8080
東京都港区海岸3-20-20
TEL03-5446-3680 FAX03-5446-3684
URL http://www.kracie.co.jp/
────────────────────────────────
暮らしへ、Kracie
───────────────────────────────
2007年6月1日より、クラシエフーズ株式会社に社名変更しました。

Almost *all* products yet they did not specify what does not contain alcohol. So what do you think? Well it’s up to you to decide for yourself whether you want to accept the first email or the second email. Personally I cannot trust both emails due to the fact that Kracie people don’t understand the exact meaning of halal haram, and also they don’t speak English well. So it’s up to you.

If you feel you don’t want to risk it, then your best bet is to just stay away. But if you feel that you believe the 1st email is acceptable, go and visit our store! 🙂

PS: All our products will list out which has gelatin, and meat related ingredients.

 

Want to buy our stuff?

 

Be Sociable, Share!

  24 Responses to “Is Popin’ Cookin’ Halal?”

  1. […] – Halal & Gelatin Issue. For my complete Halal issue post, please refer to this post – Is Popin’ Cookin’ Halal? I get a lot of questions from muslim customers about the halal status of popin’ […]

     
  2. pls let me know weather your products are halal thanks.pls let me know which ones are halal

     
  3. How about the donut happy kitchen???

     
  4. My friend said that is halal???

     
  5. […] For my complete Halal issue post, please refer to this post – Is Popin’ Cookin’ Halal? […]

     
  6. Loved i

     
  7. Hey how are you doing

     
  8. Is the karcie popin cookin sushi halal?

     
    • No the aren’t…they contains gelatin which is made from (pork) so they are not halal.. I wish it was halal because i love the sushi one! >:

       
  9. the curry rice contain pork something i do not know but ingrdent say have and the happy kitchen say it cointain pork

     
  10. Which one is halal

     
  11. Kracie poppin cookin look delicious

     
  12. Hello i want know are popin cookin halal? Just answer yes or no please..

     
  13. how to buy …and how much do pay that popin cookin

     
  14. is all nerunerune flavour halal?? pls reply ASAP :0

     
  15. are this halal or not

     
  16. It so annoying for muslims trying to find halal foods

     
  17. so that really halal or not!?

     
  18. Is pizza halal?

     
  19. nerunerune halal or not

     
  20. What are the thing in the sushi one that are now t halal……..and are the rice and the seaweed in the sushi box to halal or what

     
  21. Is pizza halal plz cuz I really want to buy it!!!!

     

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

(required)

(required)